View Full Version : 1957 General Electric Console


azbigsam
11-12-2015, 10:41 PM
I bought this TV off craigslist about 6 months ago for $20 and I just got it back from a friend of mine who got it up and running. It features an "Electronic Self-Tuner" that is pretty cool. I also like the slim cabinet. It should be a little easier to find a place for it in the house.

dishdude
11-12-2015, 11:13 PM
The tuner knob looks interesting. How does it work?

dieseljeep
11-13-2015, 10:09 AM
I bought this TV off craigslist about 6 months ago for $20 and I just got it back from a friend of mine who got it up and running. It features an "Electronic Self-Tuner" that is pretty cool. I also like the slim cabinet. It should be a little easier to find a place for it in the house.

It's newer than a 1957 model GE, more like 1960.
They really were a decent set. It looks like it has that big oval speaker. :scratch2:

dieseljeep
11-13-2015, 11:07 AM
The tuner knob looks interesting. How does it work?

IIRC, you press the button next to the number and it turns to the 12:00 position.

dieseljeep
11-13-2015, 11:13 AM
It's newer than a 1957 model GE, more like 1960.
They really were a decent set. It looks like it has that big oval speaker. :scratch2:

Maybe a 1958, as I looked at the back view and I see the location of the IF strip. Late '57 production and the first GE to have a 110 degree CRT. Some even had a tiny ion trap. It had something to do with the focus. :scratch2:

David Roper
11-15-2015, 10:03 PM
Yes to 1958 model, absolutely.

truetone36
11-20-2015, 03:57 PM
I have a tabletop version of that set in storage.

zeno
11-20-2015, 04:32 PM
Never seen that TNR. Pissah set.
And just how does the tuner work ?

73 Zeno:smoke:

David Roper
11-21-2015, 12:23 AM
The buttons on the tuner serve two functions: they turn to custom fine-tune each channel and when you push one in, the dial races around until that channel comes to the top and it pops back out. Via remote control, when you press 'channel' the tuner will stop on every channel where there is a signal.

dishdude
11-21-2015, 01:02 AM
Pretty cool! 1957 had to be a great year for cars and electronics.

dieseljeep
11-21-2015, 10:22 AM
The buttons on the tuner serve two functions: they turn to custom fine-tune each channel and when you push one in, the dial races around until that channel comes to the top and it pops back out. Via remote control, when you press 'channel' the tuner will stop on every channel where there is a signal.

IIRC, the live channel had to be fine tuned properly, for the tuner to stop, via the remote, which was a wired remote. :scratch2:

David Roper
11-21-2015, 08:18 PM
Gramps had a 59 GE in his basement in Cleveland Heights. The tuner on that set worked flawlessly for thirty years of more or less continuous use. If you were on 3 and pressed the button it would stop at 5, from 5 would advance to 8 and then one more press got you back to 3. I can see where signal strength might be an issue with respect to its accuracy and reliability, but his house was within 'urban' range of all three stations. As to fine tuning properly, each channel was fine tuned independently and, once set, seldom needed messing with.