View Full Version : Audio and Video Karma never finishes loading


wa2ise
09-24-2014, 09:41 PM
I noticed today that these two forum sites never seem to finish loading data from various domain addresses (I think that's the correct term :D ). That the Firefox green tailchasing circular icon (the thing in the left part of the tab at the top of Firefox's screen) never stops spinning. Maybe I caught a virus, but other web sites are not doing this. I also see a box in the lower left of the Firefox window saying "Transferring data from images.sv.us.criteo.net..." right now (9:40 PM EDT, Sept 24th).

drussell
09-24-2014, 10:34 PM
I noticed today that these two forum sites never seem to finish loading data from various domain addresses (I think that's the correct term :D ). That the Firefox green tailchasing circular icon (the thing in the left part of the tab at the top of Firefox's screen) never stops spinning. Maybe I caught a virus, but other web sites are not doing this. I also see a box in the lower left of the Firefox window saying "Transferring data from images.sv.us.criteo.net..." right now (9:40 PM EDT, Sept 24th).

That is a poorly behaved advertising server that is being bloated and slow.
You could run something like Adblock Plus to eliminate the annoyance.
If you feel bad for disabling advertising on a good site, donate directly.

Username1
09-25-2014, 06:31 AM
Websites that seem to never completely load often have a script that constantly
communicates with a server. This in some cases is a slow server, an image that
is not available, or and in a lot of cases, keeps a request alive to time how long
you remain on the site. It's just a tracking trick.

.

Ed in Tx
09-25-2014, 08:36 AM
You could run something like Adblock Plus to eliminate the annoyance...Yep, recommended. Adblock Plus "ABP" definitely cleans things up. Seeing no problems with Firefox here. I used to occasionally see those never ending loading pages before ABP. Overall faster page loading too.

drussell
09-25-2014, 10:04 AM
Yep, recommended. Adblock Plus "ABP" definitely cleans things up. Seeing no problems with Firefox here. I used to occasionally see those never ending loading pages before ABP. Overall faster page loading too.

Not only is it much faster and not wasting bandwidth by simply not loading the ads but it's also much safer to websurf with ABP enabled since malicious ads making it into the ad networks are a MAJOR attack vector these days....

philcophan
09-26-2014, 02:08 PM
Another great Firefox Add on is Element hiding helper for Adblock... just drag a box around things you want to be free of (like the box directly above the my eBay page) click on it and poof... gone forever, never to return!!! Try it, you'll like it!!!!

Jim

TVTim
11-18-2014, 04:17 PM
Try to clean your cookies and browser history.

Dude111
11-22-2014, 09:52 AM
That is a poorly behaved advertising server that is being bloated and slow.Yes I reckon it may be!! (I notice it on AK lately a little)

Electronic M
11-22-2014, 01:20 PM
Last 18 hours or so sometimes when I hit the 'new posts' button after it's been a few minutes to hours since last time I did, I get the please wait at least 10 seconds between clicking this link screen.

Of course Firefox has been buggy for me lately, I just doubled/maxed out my RAM and yet earlier this week I could only load about half the number of tabs that would usually cause it to to start to lock up and act funny....And the recent norm is down form previous versions of Firefox that could seemingly handle 100 loaded tabs with half the RAM I now have...

If I could still use malware-bytes I would given Firefox's recent behavior. But some months back I tried to run it and got an error message that stopped it from running...Uninstalling it and reinstalling it gave me errors on install, and subsequent launch attempts....I either have one mother of a virus lurking on this thing or the assholes that maintain and manage these school laptops have found a way to block malware-bytes (if that is even possible).