View Full Version : Picture tubes--rate them...

rca2000
04-19-2014, 11:05 PM
In my own obversations--There seem to be "best and worst" picture tubes out there.

I will rate my own opinions on the various "generations" of color tubes I have seen/heard about.

The first generation. 15GP22/15HP22. NOT too good, they don't hold up well, mainly due to poor seals.

2nd gen--19" color tubes (not sure of the #'s) These do NOT seem to be much better than the 15" tubes, not too many made--do NOT seem to have real long lifespan--but than I have NO personal experience with them and have read only scant info.

3rd gen. 21AXP22/a. These were a LOT better. Metal tube, SOME seal problems--but not NEAR as bad as the 15" tubes. If seals are good--these CAN last a long time. I have seen a number of them test like NEW after all of these years.

4th gen--21CYP22 types. All glass, seem to hold up SOMEWHAT well. NOT as refined as the successors, IMHO.

5th Gen. 21FBP/JP series types. These are all glass and are a LOT brighter than any before them. They can last a LONG time--and do NOT often go to air, unlike those before them. Of course, like any bonded tubes, the JP's and such get bad cataracts often. All in all--the BEST of the roundies===and pretty much the last gen of them too.

1st gen rect. 22EP22 or such, 1957, made ONLY by sylvania or westinghouse. Did NOT work out well at ALL. had a LOT of convergence and purity troubles VERY few made, before pulled off production.

2nd gen rect. NVC 23EGP22. 1964. THIS is a tube that should have NEVER been made--or at least they should have recalled it like the earlier 22" attempt--but they did NOT do so. NOT likely to be good, after all of this time. I personally have NEVER seen a good one. Even in the late 1970'S--they were dying then !!

3rd gen rect..25AP22 GP22 types. Better than the 23EGP22--but still not too good. I have seen a LOT of bad ones--even 30+ years ago. Still, other than cataratcs--a fair chance of finding one good now.