View Full Version : CRT test

DaveWM
11-28-2013, 11:30 AM
I have a rebuilt (channel master) 23v crt that test great on the green and practially dead on both the red and blue (8v can barely get it above the cut off range indicator on the CR70 and cut off adj is barely there at all. Test poorly on the CR161 as well so I know its not the tester. I can get a strong green raster of course but the blue and red take full G2 and a brightener to make any kind of pic. What I was wondering is it common to have such different readings on guns (two nearly dead and one very strong)? I don't have enough exp to know if this is common.

dieseljeep
11-28-2013, 11:51 AM
I have a rebuilt (channel master) 23v crt that test great on the green and practially dead on both the red and blue (8v can barely get it above the cut off range indicator on the CR70 and cut off adj is barely there at all. Test poorly on the CR161 as well so I know its not the tester. I can get a strong green raster of course but the blue and red take full G2 and a brightener to make any kind of pic. What I was wondering is it common to have such different readings on guns (two nearly dead and one very strong)? I don't have enough exp to know if this is common.

It seemed to be rather common on certain makes of CRT's. Admiral and Westinghouse, plus Motorola CRT's had this problem most often.
Unfortunately, even with only one gun bad, the CRT, still had to be replaced.
Channel rebuilts, were only slightly better, than the local rebuilder's products.

Username1
11-28-2013, 12:16 PM
hook them up full brightness, run for a day or two, increase heater voltage a little, then hit them with a stick near the end of the tube where the red lights are till you hear a spark inside. I did it to xl-100 tubes all the time, only one out of say 20 did not get better.....

sampson159
11-28-2013, 05:54 PM