View Full Version : RCA 630TS and 8TS30


vts1134
06-20-2013, 10:51 AM
Do the 630TS and 8TS30 have identical chassis?

vts1134
06-20-2013, 12:10 PM
Sams covers the 630TS, 630CTS (their miss-spelling :)), and the 8TS30 in one schematic so I'm assuming they're the same, but just thought I'd ask.

Geist
06-20-2013, 12:20 PM
Hi All;
The only difference I have seen is that the 630 had a Field Coil Choke, and the 830 has a permenant Magnet Speaker and a regular Choke in its place..
And I think there might be a few minor Resistor value changes..
THANK YOU Marty

Eric H
06-20-2013, 12:49 PM
I think there are some physical differences such as the length of the control shafts, I base this on trying to put an 8-ts chassis in a 630 cabinet and the controls stuck out way too far.

wiseguy
06-20-2013, 04:54 PM
Also the 630 had a Ion trap coil on the neck of the CRT, 8TS had perm mag for ion trap, I went thru all this years ago

ChrisW6ATV
06-23-2013, 11:43 PM
Others have said the 630TS came with both types of speakers and/or ion traps. I have not checked my two sets. One of mine was missing its speaker and audio output transformer when I got it anyway.

Kamakiri
06-24-2013, 06:42 AM
Also the 630 had a Ion trap coil on the neck of the CRT, 8TS had perm mag for ion trap, I went thru all this years ago

I went through all this yesterday :D . Put the ion trap coil on backwards on a Crosley 630 clone, and was wondering why I had no picture :nerd: