View Full Version : noob here with broken philco

Donny
10-23-2004, 02:06 PM
after reading AK I'm interested in old radios and stereo stuff I've had a philco 40-145 sitting in my parents kitchen for 15years lol I dug it out and plugged it in it lights up the tubes light but either I don't know how to work it (I wasn't alive in 1940) or it needs repair can not recieve station etc I have no sound at all

Sandy G
10-23-2004, 07:14 PM
Welcome to AK, pal ! Yr old Philco was probly made 1939-40. I wouldn't plug it in again until you've had it checked out, you could get a nasty shock and/or ruin what looks like a VERY nice old set. All radios have capacitors & resistors in 'em; back when, caps were made out of wax & paper, & after 65 years they will undoubtedly have gone bad. Possibly a few resistors have gone out of spec, & maybe a tube or 2 has gone south as well. Just because they light up doesn't mean they're any good. I'd replace the A/C cord, too-it looks kinda iffy in the photo. More than likely, yr old Philco can be made to play again; there are several guys here that can do it for you for a reasonable fee, or if you know what you're doing, you can attempt it yrself. Be warned, though-Old radios are kinda like tater chips-nobody can stop at just one !-Sandy G.

asynchronousman
10-24-2004, 07:45 AM
Hey! From our conversations I could not have gotten a clue as to what a NICE set you have shown us. Only some minor dings and the grille cloth is really swell looking and the dial glass looks in good shape for a 65 year old radio...you have a great set and now the only hassles are replacing bad electronic parts. Just remember not to take any guff from the Zenith crowd :D because this is really neat! I wish my "first" set had been in such good shape, working or not.