View Full Version : Sony 61" plasma KDE-61XBR950 $18,000 saved from trash

kx250rider
02-26-2013, 11:29 AM
I rescued this rather rare early model Sony plasma set from being scrapped on Sunday in Santa Barbara. Huge heavy behemoth; the one that sold for over $18K to the elite videophile... It's in really nice shape physically, got it with the media box, and even the elusive Sony interconnect cable that you can't find anywhere.

I have zero experience on plasma (or any flat display) sets, but I want to see if I can get it working. Based on the fault codes as referenced on the internet, it may have a bad sustain board. Problem is that it turns on, then shuts down right away with a code of 9 blinks-pause-9 blinks, etc. on the power LED, and the other LED alternates green-red-green-red etc (infinite blinks).

Before I go out and try to procure a pair of sustain boards, anyone have tips on this? NOTE: The 61XBR950 has completely different boards from the otherwise identical 55XBR950. It looks like these are NEC boards, and are also used in Mitsubishi 61" plasma sets.

Thanks for any experiences you might share :thmbsp:

Charleshttp://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m174/kx250racer/th_Sony61plasma_zpscd2f5cd8.jpg (http://s104.beta.photobucket.com/user/kx250racer/media/Sony61plasma_zpscd2f5cd8.jpg.html)

Eric H
02-26-2013, 01:54 PM
That's a great find!
No matter the cost it probably won't compare to the new Plasma models picture wise but still cool from an historical perspective.

I'd open it up and see if it's got any bulging Caps, I don't know if Sony ever had any Cap problems but it's worth a look.

What year was it made exactly?

CoogarXR
02-26-2013, 08:33 PM
Does the screen ever energize (glow)? Even briefly? Or does it just click on and right back off?

kx250rider
02-27-2013, 11:46 AM
That's a great find!
No matter the cost it probably won't compare to the new Plasma models picture wise but still cool from an historical perspective.