View Full Version : What do I need to know?

radio nut
11-14-2012, 04:45 PM
As time goes on I am more comfortable with black and white tv's. I have been doing radios for well over ten years. Do I have any electronics education...nope.

Color tv with gray scale set up....purity...convergence...burst amps.. and the such seems to put them out of my league.

If I come across a tubed color set .....besides tubes and caps and out of tolerance resistors.....and possibly bad coil or such.....how much harder is a color set? I feel intimidated now and I do not even have one.

I "assume" if I do not have to put a crt in it purity and convergence should be good...right?

Am I mentally making this too difficult or is color set restoration something I can be talked through..

And yes I did hit the wrong link and put this post in the wrong spot.......Starting out well, huh?

ctc17
11-14-2012, 06:18 PM
I find tube color sets one of the most challenging things to get working right. Thats what keeps me going on them. Nothing to be shy about though. Give it a shot, there are plenty of people here who can help you. So long as you understand basic circuits and have some test equipment you can get it to work.
If you find one on craigslist or something dont hesitate to grab it. Better you destroy it learning than someone make a fishtank out of it.

Sandy G
11-14-2012, 06:25 PM
Just take it easy...DON'T get flummoxed...You likely have MOST of the skills you need already...There is an INCREDIBLE wealth & depth of knowlege right here...And from what I've seen, they are VERY willing to share it !

radio nut
11-14-2012, 06:28 PM
I find tube color sets one of the most challenging things to get working right. Thats what keeps me going on them. Nothing to be shy about though. Give it a shot, there are plenty of people here who can help you. So long as you understand basic circuits and have some test equipment you can get it to work.