View Full Version : Hey, y'all - Arkansas newbie here

Ncotham
06-18-2012, 07:14 PM
Well, here we go - another newbie to torment all you TV restoration veterans out there. I trust there are no hazing rituals involving charged capacitors, right?:-) I've acquired our original 1954 Admiral Model C2226 cabinet that I grew up with until my folks FINALLY went to color sometime in the mid to late70's. REEEEELLY want to get this set operational again, but I've got the deck stacked against me - ALL I have is the cabinet. Nobody knows what happened to the chassis, tube or speaker. Looks like the TV was gutted at some point for parts, such a shame because the cabinet IS the one we had all those years. I sure hope y'all can help me! I'm a computer systems engineer, so I've had training in electronics in college years ago and know my way around a soldering iron, but applying that knowledge to TVs will be new. This will be a labor of love IF I can find the internals to even get started with. I've attached a photo of me and my TV, circa 1961, and all I can figure is that I'm waiting on the thing to warm up - either that or the camera flash overpowered the picture. I have additional photos of the cabinet as it stands today showing the progress I've made thus far that I'll post in the Early B&W thread. Got lots of questions! Thanks welcoming me into your home:-)

DavGoodlin
06-19-2012, 07:52 AM
Welcome, good to have an Admiral admirer here.

That particular make is pretty popular amongst most members and is an acute special-ity of a few. I may have the speaker you need. I parted one out to put a motorola tube hifi in the cabinet many years ago, before i figured out how easy it was to get an Admiral working like new. I also have some NOS tuners for that vintage.

Good Luck!

Ncotham
06-19-2012, 05:53 PM
Welcome, good to have an Admiral admirer here.