View Full Version : fada 940

dibiase45
04-08-2012, 11:53 AM
Recently found a 1948 fada model 940 in pretty good shape. Plugged it in and it has power. Any idea of worth or value. I am new to site and to old TVs

Phil Nelson
04-08-2012, 04:13 PM
Does it look like this?

http://www.tvhistory.tv/1948-FADA-940-12in.JPG

Don't plug it in any more. You may burn things up and reduce the value. Every TV that old needs electronic work, so knowing that it has power tells you nothing.

There's no official price book for old TVs, so value is what someone will give you. In my book, it would be somewhere around $100 - $150. Others may disagree. Much of the value depends on whether the picture tube is good, something you can't tell unless you have a picture tube tester.

Phil Nelson
Phil's Old Radios
http://antiqueradio.org/index.html

dibiase45
04-09-2012, 03:46 PM
Phil , thanks for the info. It looks exactly like that. Now to figure out what to do with it.
Anthony

old_coot88
04-10-2012, 06:34 AM
On the rare occasion that a Fada set (most always a radio) came into the shop, one of us goofballs would quip "here's da fada. Where is da mudda?"

:screwy:

Steve
04-10-2012, 10:03 AM
Nice set! Value....probably less than it would cost to restore the
electronics properly. Thats true for most old TV's. If you aren't
interested in doing a restoration pass it on to someone that will.
Steve

pearsonk
04-10-2012, 10:47 AM
PM sent...................

BelowZero
04-10-2012, 09:34 PM
On the rare occasion that a Fada set (most always a radio) came into the shop, one of us goofballs would quip "here's da fada. Where is da mudda?"
That's a great story, thanks for sharing!:D

Well it looks like there are few Fada TV's in captivity.

I just recently picked up a 940, it was supposed to be a working set and the seller (who really didn't know much about electrical condition of the set) offered to plug it in and turn it on for me but I said no thanks I'd rather not risk it.