View Full Version : Goodbye Videokarma :(


init4fun
10-14-2011, 06:36 PM
:banana: YES !!!!! ITS FIXED !!!!! :banana:


I did what Reece told me (actually had my Son do it) and it worked ! My access to VK has been restored . I didnt want to leave , I was just afraid Id do my computer damage by locking it up like it was doing , but now all is well with no lockups or script warnings .

Thank You for the patience you all have shown to this old guy computer newbie , and I'm REALLY glad I dont have to give up VK ( I like this site enough to have it in my favorites tab and I reccomend it to all that ask me about my old radios and TV )

Aint modern technology just wonderfull ............

Electronic M
10-14-2011, 08:34 PM
I've never seen what you describe. Are you sure your computer is functioning properly, and not infected with a virus, of some such??

There will be a pop up on visiting the site if one of the members has sent you a personal message, friend request, or some such notification of something of note in your private user settings/info/control page. To disable those popups all you have to do is view that page (the link is in the upper right hand corner below your username, when you are loged in of course).

I've never had any ads for products, or services pop up on me when visiting the site, and I can't immagine them making pop ups that only affect some users.

Hope this issue clears up for you.

bandersen
10-14-2011, 10:56 PM
I've never had any problems either. Are the warnings coming from your Anti-virus/spyware utility ?

Eric H
10-14-2011, 11:50 PM
It's most likely the AdChoices advertisements that run at the top of the page, this is something you probably have to tell your software to ignore.
Most Sites uses Cookies so you don't have to log in each time you return and so you can see what posts are new since you were last here, etc.

Which program is it exactly that's giving you this warning, is it your antivirus or Firewall.

I've been here years and there is nothing malicious running that I've ever heard about.

Jeffhs
10-15-2011, 02:28 PM
I wouldn't be in such a hurry to leave VK. Your problem is probably very easy to solve; it is probably, as Eric H. mentioned, a software program which is now set to block ad banners, including those on VK. Delete/disable this program or set it to allow the banners; your site access issue should be solved. I put a program (Adblock Plus) on my computer some time ago that blocks the AdChoices banners on VK's pages, as well as unwanted ads on other sites. I've been using this program for months; never had any problems with it blocking my access to anything on the web, including VK. I also have NoScript, which blocks unwanted scripts but can be set to allow scripts from trusted sites. If you have this program, put VK in its "whitelist" (the script will be allowed to run). Again, your non-responsive script issue should be solved.

AUdubon5425
10-15-2011, 03:15 PM
I'm afraid he may never see any of the replies here.

RobtWB
10-15-2011, 07:21 PM
I had the same problem with the crappy little netbook computer - finally let the machine do the Microsoft upgrades and upgrade to IE 8 and now no problems.

Username1
10-15-2011, 07:22 PM
He said script warning. This is best fixed using Firefox and the noscript addon. And yes you can get unresponsive slow running script warnings on older slower 1ghz or slower with the scripts that ads often run to be sure they are not blocked. Noscript stops those scripts run by the ad companies. It is pretty funny though that he may not decide to look at these responses though.... already jumped! I agree though, those ads and the scripts they run are quite annoying if your on an older computer.... Of course his computer could be jammed with all kinds of anti-virus stuff that it hardly runs....

jr_tech
10-15-2011, 08:17 PM
He said script warning. This is best fixed using Firefox and the noscript addon. And yes you can get unresponsive slow running script warnings on older slower 1ghz or slower with the scripts that ads often run to be sure they are not blocked. Noscript stops those scripts run by the ad companies.

I get unresponsive script warnings when I visit this site with an old Asus Eee RC (2G surf model). Turning off javaScript on that computer works well enough for me. It is usually something about "skimresources" that causes the old Eee to hiccup!
jr

bgadow
10-15-2011, 11:56 PM
Never a problem here, either. This is actually one of the smoother running sites I visit.

Reece
10-16-2011, 10:54 AM
I was not able to get on VK either with the same problem as the original poster and I tried various things to no avail. Finally I went to Tools/Windows Updates. It suggested that I update from IE7 to IE8 as a critical update. That did it for me. I will try to communicate same to the original poster: he also posted his problem over on ARF.

DaveWM
10-16-2011, 07:05 PM
Having the same problem, same script warning, crashes my internet connection. I am no comp guru so not sure why but it just started a few days ago. My term serv comp works ok (why I am able to type this).

Eric H
10-16-2011, 07:22 PM
I wonder if it has anything to do with Microsoft's updates?
I seem to recall a big one last Tuesday?
Running Windows 7 and AVG here, Windows Firewall only and no issues with scripts.

Perhaps your JAVA software needs an update?
I have no idea what the Ad Ware runs on but Java is common.

tubetwister
10-16-2011, 09:16 PM
no problems here or on AK sounds like a java script or antivirus prob. as others have mentioned what browser are you using ?

init4fun
10-16-2011, 10:05 PM
:banana: Gawd I just love that dancin bananna !!!!! :D

grumpy
10-17-2011, 07:00 AM
Glad you guys got it sorted out. We scan VK nightly to make sure its clean. If you ever have any problems accessing the site, please contact VK admin Kamakiri, or myself.

Grumpy

DaveWM
10-17-2011, 08:15 PM
still not working for me, got a call into my IT guy...

Reece
10-18-2011, 07:58 AM
Dave: open your browser Internet Explorer. Click on Tools. Click on Windows Update. Follow the prompts. It will probably say there's a critical update to perform which it will do automatically when you click on it. This could take a while while it churns in the background. Then it will ask to restart the computer. When the computer comes back up, all should be well.

DaveWM
10-18-2011, 12:35 PM
got it. just changed to firefox. IT guy did not want me to make changes.

Kamakiri
10-25-2011, 10:31 PM
My email all day every day is hondacuraworld@aol.com if anyone needs me. I'm also there on AIM as well :)

Electronic M
10-25-2011, 10:59 PM
Allowing one's computer to update can sometimes do more harm than good......The last big update has messed up my internet explorer 8 such that it defaults to 100% zoom when I open new tabs or windows. This really ticks me off! I like to keep the zoom no my laptop at 140% so I can read this site, ARF, and most other sites without pressing my face to the screen. Before the update any tab or window I would open would default to the zoom level of the last closed tab or window, and as long as I left the zoom at 140 or remembered to go back to it before closing stuff I changed the zoom in it would stay at 140 as I wanted.

This is sooner or later going to annoy me into switching to fire fox which came with this machine, but I never bothered to setup.

Jeffhs
10-25-2011, 11:38 PM
Allowing one's computer to update can sometimes do more harm than good......The last big update has messed up my internet explorer 8 such that it defaults to 100% zoom when I open new tabs or windows. This really ticks me off! I like to keep the zoom no my laptop at 140% so I can read this site, ARF, and most other sites without pressing my face to the screen. Before the update any tab or window I would open would default to the zoom level of the last closed tab or window, and as long as I left the zoom at 140 or remembered to go back to it before closing stuff I changed the zoom in it would stay at 140 as I wanted.

This is sooner or later going to annoy me into switching to fire fox which came with this machine, but I never bothered to setup.

Tom, I switched to Firefox from IE6 some years ago while still running Windows 98SE. I run Windows XP today, installed Firefox soon after getting the system (which was preloaded with IE8), and have not looked back.

If Firefox came with your computer, it is probably on one of the original installation/recovery CDs. If not, the latest version of FF is available as a free download at http://www.mozilla.com.

I let my computer update itself whenever it tells me it needs to (via a balloon symbol near the system tray), and have never had one bit of trouble. The only way I can imagine an update actually harming a computer is if the update has viruses or bugs. Always be certain your antivirus protection is up to date, and be sure you know from whom you are downloading any program updates. Almost every time I have installed a program on my machine from the Web, I have seen a dialog box with a warning: "Download software only from authors whom you trust". This should send up a red flag immediately -- that the software you are about to download could damage your computer or play havoc with your online security. If you have downloaded material from this person or entity before and have had no problems, go ahead. However, if the person/entity is someone or some software firm you have never heard of, avoid the download like the plague. Mozilla's downloads are safe, for the most part, as are software downloads from sources such as CNet's download site (http://www.download.com), but to be 100 percent certain the software is virus- and bug-free, scan it first with a good antivirus system (which is a good idea for any software download about which you are in doubt as to whether or not it is infected). I use AVG, which works well for my purposes, on my Windows XP system; this software, which has a built-in virus scanner for individual programs as well as for your entire computer, is also available as a free download from http://www.grisoft.com.

There are many other antivirus scanners out there, but I've had, and continue to have, excellent results with AVG. Besides, it is freeware, so even if, Heaven forbid, the program doesn't meet your expectations, you are not out one penny. If the program does work well for you (as it should), however, you have bagged a bargain. A good antivirus program will be worth its weight in gold if it stops even one virus from compromising or outright damaging your computer, or worse.

Electronic M
10-26-2011, 01:33 PM
I don't worry about this computer much.....My college gave it to me, and will maintain it for free (already lost the HDD 4-5 times). Next fall they will give me a newer unit that I will get to keep (as long as I graduate). That one I will be more carefull with (especially after I graduate).

Thanks for the tip on the free virus scan I'll check it out. Most software that I need I can easily track down a free version of, but it seems that when my computer gets buggy and I search for free anti-virus stuff it either is not totally free to install, or they show one what is wrong and ask one to pay for the for the activation code to enable the software to fix it.