View Full Version : Proper handling of a 50" plasma TV

kx250rider
08-11-2011, 09:30 AM
At the needling of a few friends who are fellow plasma dislikers, I made this video yesterday... Excuse the sound quality (wind came up and blew into the mic), and excuse the goofiness of the narration... I've always said I'm a good TV tech; not video narrator, LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-xTJEU81eI

The set is a 2009 Maxent 50", and was junk... Please don't blast me for wanton waste; it had a bad display, plus was missing the sustain board, and had cockroaches in it.

Charles

mwplefty
08-11-2011, 11:52 AM
At the needling of a few friends who are fellow plasma dislikers, I made this video yesterday... Excuse the sound quality (wind came up and blew into the mic), and excuse the goofiness of the narration... I've always said I'm a good TV tech; not video narrator, LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-xTJEU81eI

The set is a 2009 Maxent 50", and was junk... Please don't blast me for wanton waste; it had a bad display, plus was missing the sustain board, and had cockroaches in it.

Charles

Plasmas and LCD's are a waste of time and money to repair. Old CRT's are worth the trouble to save. I'm kind of glad you did that. The hype about flat-panel TV's nowadays is getting pretty ridiculous.

Electronic M
08-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Nice!:thmbsp:

A cannon is another "proper" way to handle them working or not.

ctc17
08-11-2011, 12:22 PM
2 years!? Talk about bad for the environment. Ill take something full of lead that lasts 50 years any day.

Eric H
08-11-2011, 12:29 PM
Fun video Charles, however I think stuff like this just stirs the pot and invites retaliation.

I for one get tired of all the "Flat Panels suck" threads that pop up about once a month, (or week).

HD is here to stay, life is too short to keep watching Low Def for any reason other than nostalgia.

I'll continue watching Bluray Discs on my Plasma and enjoying it very much thank you.