View Full Version : Renting Out A Vintage TV

AUdubon5425
05-05-2010, 02:45 AM
So a local movie studio wants to rent one of my console TVs for a one-day shoot. The girl asked me how much I wanted. Has anyone ever done this before? I have no idea what to ask; I'm not looking to make a killing, just don't want to come across as naive (but I guess I am :) )

sampson159
05-05-2010, 07:32 AM
i have done this before myself.they offered 100 dollars or your name on the screen.being jewish,i opted for the money.
the set was used in a movie shot here in columbus about jesse owens.i worked in the fountain beverage business and we rented them a vintage system too.oh,did that junk leak!all over.my bendix set came back nice and clean.they were very good to us.no horror story to report.

leadlike
05-05-2010, 11:40 AM
Someone here or on ARF did this for two Oliver Stone movies. The first was JFK, and the tv was featured in a scene where Oswald runs through a home. It came back clean. He next rented a tv for Stone's Natural Born Killers, and it came back crushed and covered in fake blood (If you've seen this movie, you'll know it's not very surprising that would happen).

The lesson here is that your rental fee will basically be what you want for the replacement value of the set. Just something to keep in mind.

Bill R
05-05-2010, 09:29 PM
Be sure to get all the details in writing up front. Be sure to include a clause about the returned set condition, just in case it gets crushed and covered in fake blood. That way if all goes well you can make a little cash, and if it goes wrong they can pay a pre determined price for the set to replace it.

AUdubon5425
05-06-2010, 02:34 AM