View Full Version : Does anyone Know what set this is?

50scraze
11-19-2009, 03:24 PM
My first post, long time reader here looking for my first set! I found one locally but it looks a little weird to me. The crt doesn't look right...like there's a new TV in the cabinet? Of course i'm no expert. I love the style of the cabinet but i dont want it if its a frankenset. Seller doesn't even state what brand it is...but the price is $50.00 so any info on this would be great!

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/4931/3m63p33l55tf5p25re9b872.jpg

Eric H
11-19-2009, 03:58 PM
Almost certain to be a Frankenset, the CRT is too square to be from the 60's.
As to what it was, it look a lot like the Olympics discussed in another thread here though it could be any one of dozens of odd brands made back then.

Phil Nelson
11-19-2009, 04:37 PM
I think I see the black picture tube bezel of a modern set in there. I'd ask the owner for a photo showing the insides from the back.

Phil

bgadow
11-19-2009, 10:13 PM
I am 99.99% sure it has been gutted. The thing that makes it look odd is the bezel has been reshaped to sorta fit. I'm curious just how they did that, whether they cut away the old bezel or fabricated a new one. Doesn't really matter-I wouldn't want to do this to any old set!

Shouldn't be too hard to find a set that age to play with. I don't know where you are located but if you were near me I'd set you up with something quick!

And, after thinking about it a minute, I am 100% sure...

kx250rider
11-20-2009, 10:23 AM
I agree with Bryan. And look at that speaker cloth! That was in one of those yuppie-retro hippie apartments in a trendy part of town someplace. Or maybe only in someone's nightmare. I say it's a 20" modern color set in an old B&W console; maybe a Magnavox, with the original tuner still there.

Charles

50scraze
11-20-2009, 12:47 PM