View Full Version : just scored a Motorola 12t3

suede
10-21-2009, 03:23 PM
Well ever since i first saw my grandads still working 1956 Admiral in the early 90s, ive always wanted a vintage tv. I just called on this craigslist ad, said id buy it sight unseen at only 30 bucks and the gal says its mine. ill pick it up tomorrow. Yes the cord it cut off, so i assume its dead and needs complete mechanical restoration.

http://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/ele/1428119980.html

so please, for a complete novice. a guy whos just getting into playing with tube radios, where should i go and and what books would be good for me to study this, learn about tv's and find parts? I know how to restore furniture so.. an old school tv like this seems like a fun project to kill the winter away.

Thanks so much

Zenith26kc20
10-21-2009, 03:33 PM
These are great sets! Watch out for the + parts of the electrolytic caps (they don't like being put in backwards). I use one for DX'ing now and then. Any questions let us know!

suede
10-21-2009, 06:03 PM
What would be the best place to buy NOS parts for this girl? Caps, tubes and such?

Also, how do i find out when she was made?

kvflyer
10-21-2009, 06:30 PM
Certainly you would only want tubes NOS, not capacitors. Modern capacitors are very inexpensive and will last longer than us most likely. But before replacing tubes, capacitors should be replaced. They are the culprits. Often, leaky (read shorted) capacitors are what stress tubes and can cause them to fail. You most likely will not need very many tubes. At most, maybe a Horizontal output and oscillator, damper tube and maybe a vertical output tube. But address the capacitors and electrolytic capacitors first. Do you have access to a tube tester?

suede
10-21-2009, 06:49 PM
Do you have access to a tube tester?

A tube tester?, I actually bought one just recently. So go with modern caps then?