View Full Version : Which Trinitron?

Njord Noatun
10-11-2008, 11:36 AM
First off, let's get some basic info out of the way so that you know where I am coming from here (apart from never having posted to this AK forum before):

I know zilch about TVs, watch very little (and then only broadcast), and TV stuff is generally fairly low on my list of interest priorities (no offense, guys!).
I do not care for flat screens, and do not care about the digital conversions happening in 2009 (except I know I need to get some kind of converter-thingy).

My current TV is going out (ca. 1999 cheapo Circuit City box) and I am thinking of getting something a little better (CRT, ca. 27"): I like Sony Trinitrons and have heard they are pretty decent TVs, they seem to be plentiful on CL and such, and was wondering if you have any advice as to what Trinitrons (models or vintages) I should look for or avoid.

Thanks - keep in mind I am a TV newbie! :thmbsp:

radiotvnut
10-11-2008, 12:26 PM
I don't know how much help I'll be; but, here are my observations:

I don't think there were any Trinitrons bigger than a 19" in the '70's. Most were fairly reliable except for those models that used a device called a gate controlled switch in the horizontal deflection circuit. This device was prone to failure and cost out the butt to replace.

Sony came out with a 26" set in the early '80's that should be avoided because the CRT (710AB22, IIRC) was not reliable at all. After that set, Sony's got pretty good during the '80's. I've still seen plenty of weak CRT's on the '80's Sony's; but, not as many as I've seen on the newer models. I'm currently watching an '85 Sony that was a repair shop reject about 6 years ago. I replaced the bridge rectifier in it when I got it and, for some reason, had to do the same thing a couple of weeks ago. Other than that, it's been a great TV.