View Full Version : Newbie Question - Mid Sixties Admiral Color TV

ihmeyers
09-28-2008, 03:33 PM
Hi all. I'm a newbie here, but have been collecting vintage TV's for about 20 years. I have just acquired my first vintage color set, a mid sixties Admiral. The set is is good shape and plays OK (a little soft perhaps) but is in desperate need of a color alignment. The convergence is the first thing I notice as being way off and the colors are blotchy, for lack of a better word.

I live in S. Florida. Does anyone on the board know of someone in my general area I can pay to align the set? I don't have the manual and even if I did I don't know that I could do that myself, though I have all the patterns on a video set-up DVD.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Ian :confused:

newhallone
09-28-2008, 04:03 PM
Sadly no...but I love your set! Congrats!

radio63
09-28-2008, 04:17 PM
This post should be in the Rectangular Tube category.

Gilbert

ihmeyers
09-28-2008, 05:05 PM
I wasn't sure. Be happy to have the mod move it. Sorry the "mid sixties" threw me.

sampson159
09-28-2008, 05:34 PM
you dont need a manual.set up is generally the same procedure om these delta gun sets.much,much,posting in this forum on set up.i like that set. the cabinet screams 60s.awesome looking!!!!

zenithfan1
09-28-2008, 05:45 PM
Did you get that photo from drh4683? That looks like his things and his basement in the background.

ihmeyers
09-28-2008, 07:32 PM
Yes. I bought the set from him. He was a great guy to deal with.

I was very happy to finally acquire a 60's color set and had it moved all the way from Chicago.

zenithfan1
09-28-2008, 09:26 PM
Cool! Then you got yourself a good tv, he finds some of the best around here. Also, welcome to the forum!

freakaftr8
09-29-2008, 12:50 AM
Yes indeed! Welcome and very nice set! I would look ar purity rings first, could have been bumped or jossled in transportation, as well as yoke alignment.

jpdylon
09-29-2008, 09:36 AM