View Full Version : Rca Ctc-11

HowardBanjo
09-25-2008, 03:12 PM
Hello, I'm new to this board so I'm still learning. I have an RCA CTC-11 that has worked well for years with small fixes (replace a tube here and there). Now It's starting to need some caps, etc. And I'd like to replace the flyback. There are some very knowledgable folks here. So if anybody has any service information about the CTC-11 or a source of parts that would really help. Also, any troubleshooting pointers would be great. For a long time it has needed about 15 minutes to get up to full brightness. Any thoughts?

Thanks, Dave

gadget73
09-25-2008, 03:43 PM
Could be the HV rectifier is getting tired, or possibly even the picture tube. Weak video output tube might also cause that. I've never worked on a color set, so there might be other issues. Bad caps are to blame for a lot of things, and if this particular unit uses a voltage doubler arrangement for B+, bad caps in that circuit could cause weak B+.

I'm told that Moyer Electronics is the place to go for flybacks and other oddball parts. http://www.moyerelectronics.com/

HowardBanjo
09-25-2008, 03:45 PM
I think I've found how to attach pictures. Here's one I just took. Not too good, but you can see it anyway.

zenithfan1
09-25-2008, 04:49 PM
Wow! That is a nice looking set. I don't get to see many 11s.

Tony V
09-25-2008, 05:45 PM
It looks like you either have a weak green gun in your crt or your grey scale adjustment is way off for starters. Nice looking set though and overall looks like its playing decently. It wouldnt take too much to get this one playing like the others on the forum here.
-Tony

mattcarranza
09-25-2008, 06:29 PM
I think I've found how to attach pictures. Here's one I just took. Not too good, but you can see it anyway.

That is a very cool set! By the way, is that a console in the bottom left corner of your photo?