View Full Version : Need flyback for 1947 GE model 801

Bill B.
04-02-2008, 01:09 PM
Hi, Guys. I have been into tube radio restoration for years, but I'm a newbie here with my first old tv to restore. My set is missing the all of the flyback assembly. The schematics call for a GE pt# RTO-032. From some pics a buddy with the same set sent me, the original flyback assembly included a pre-wired socket for the high voltage rectifier tube, which is also missing. All I have is the insulated frame the rectifier tube evidently snapped in to. Through google searches, I found several possible replacement flybacks. Could anyone please tell me whether or not the Stancor A-8130, the Thordarson Fly 3, Merit HVO-7, or RAM X045 would be the correct replacement, and if those assemblies include the rectifier tube socket?
Update 04/05/08: Thanks to Don, I found the flyback I needed. It's a Stancor A-8130 that I just need to figure out how to wire in now.
Thanks

refill233
04-02-2008, 01:51 PM
I have a Stancor A-8130 and a HVO-7 and neither one has the rect. tube socket. Should be easy enough to find one to wire in.

Later,
Don

Bill B.
04-02-2008, 01:59 PM
It seems that the replacements assume you have all the original parts in place, so you just replace the transformer itself? My biggest concern is to work in the anode connector that goes to the 10BP4.

refill233
04-02-2008, 02:49 PM
The Ram X045 is a direct replacement for it. I don't have a sub book on the other two. Some one here can sub it for you. Great people here and they help alot. Seems like all you would need is a tube socket,tube and anode lead.The replace -ment flybacks have the filament leads on them. I'm sure you have a couple resistors that go on the bottom of the tube socket. You need a diagram of it for sure. The hv rect tube will probably be a 1B3 OR 1X2. Not sure which on that set. Hope this helps some. May have some type of doorknob capacitor off the anode wire also.

Best Of Luck,
Don

Tubejunke