View Full Version : Finally snagged a Zenith tube radio

Snade
03-14-2008, 01:03 PM
Living in the Chicago area, I hold up Zenith as a great, local company - in particular the radios and TVs it made in the 50's and 60's.

I've been scrounging for a Zenith tube radio or console for a couple of years.

Today, the local thrift had one of these priced at $6.95. I grabbed it.

Zenith Model G730W AM/FM radio. Very nice shape, a few scratches, but in amazing shape.

7 tubes, circa mid-1950's.

It works, :banana: listening the AM right now in my basement and reception is better than my Tivoli Model One.
http://www.gallagher.com/photos/2008/zenith_radio.jpg

http://www.gallagher.com/photos/2008/zenith_radio_2.jpg

Ok Snade, calm down.

Cheers.

Sandy G
03-14-2008, 01:12 PM
I've got its double-1st cousin, mine's a blonde cabinet that is squared off rather than "arched", but I'd about guarantee the works are the same. Good price, too !

Ultra-Hog
03-14-2008, 01:15 PM
That's sweet! Aren't those tube radios great? I love the way they sound. Nice and warm with great reception to boot. If you decide to do any preventative maintenance, like replacing the filter cap, there are lots of excellent sources available.

Enjoy! :thmbsp:

onepixel
03-14-2008, 01:19 PM
Sweet, sure is pretty!

Snade
03-14-2008, 01:36 PM
The sticker on the bottom of the radio.

http://www.gallagher.com/photos/2008/zenith_radio_3.jpg

fsjonsey
03-14-2008, 06:14 PM
That, In my opinion, is one of the best looking zenith sets of the 50's. Almost reminds me of a european radio.

Robie
03-14-2008, 08:32 PM
Very cool, my man. Bet it sounds great in your man cave.

skippy_ps
03-15-2008, 10:02 AM
I like it - cool cabinet.

Murray

barrynsue
03-15-2008, 10:16 AM