View Full Version : Westinghouse H251-Recapped But still dead.

fsjonsey
04-28-2007, 11:05 PM
Well, ive been working on the h251. I replaced all of the electrolytic and paper caps and the bad rectifier tubes with new EH 5u4gb's. The set still shows few signs of life other than lit filaments and a low hum from the speaker. What section should i attack next??

Chad Hauris
04-28-2007, 11:23 PM
I would check all voltages coming from the power supply...there may be open resistors leading to some stages not receiving DC voltage.

fsjonsey
04-29-2007, 12:40 PM
Im kinda new to this, i've been working on vintage radios for awhile, and never replaced the molded mica caps. Should i replace them here, as Tv circuits are more sensitive to out of spec caps? Also, Are the micamold caps paper or mica?

Phil Nelson
04-29-2007, 12:55 PM
Mica caps are usually quite reliable, although I have had to replace a few in old TVs and boatanchor radios. I generally don't replace one unless I have first tested it, or have a strong indication that it's faulty.

Micamold caps are paper caps in flat, usually rectangular cases, and should be replaced. Some have colored dots, others have the values stamped in the case, something I don't remember ever seeing on a mica cap. I replace all of these without wasting time to test.

This article has a couple of photos and some guidance on how to tell one from the other.

http://www.antiqueradio.org/recap.htm

Note that the capacitor's value is a tipoff. Micas have very small values. Micamolds have larger values, much the same range as paper caps.

Phil Nelson
Phil's Old Radios
http://antiqueradio.org/index.html

Eric H
04-29-2007, 08:49 PM
Have you hooked an antenna or DVD player to it yet to check for sound?
Sometimes a set won't make any noise till you get a signal through it, does it make any crackling noise when you change channels, this would at least indicate your audio is working.